The Fashion Award winners of 2020 share their hopes for the future of the fashion industry

Samuel Ross 

Founder of the Black Lives Matter Financial Aid Scheme, Ross pledged £10,000 to those on the frontline supporting the BLM movement and gave grants of £25,000 to Black-owned businesses.

“Next year we need less talk—more action and change.”

Priya Ahluwalia Photo: Courtesy of The Fashion Awards

Priya Ahluwalia 

A pioneer of sustainable fashion and telling the stories of those who make her clothes, Ahluwalia is an agent for change who uses her platform to raise awareness about the Black community.

“2020 has been such a turbulent year, the importance of community has been imperative to me both personally and professionally. The community I built between my peers through the height of the BLM protests is unbreakable and I was able to get through everyday because of it.”

Lindsay Peoples Wagner Photo: Courtesy of The Fashion Awards

Sandrine Charles Photo: Courtesy of The Fashion Awards

Lindsay Peoples Wagner and Sandrine Charles 

Founders of the Black in Fashion Council—editors, models, stylists, creatives, and industry stakeholders who aim to bring diversity, inclusion, and accountability to the fashion industry.

“While this year has been incredibly tough, we want to make sure that people of colour are being supported and uplifted. The Black in Fashion Council community has meant so much to people who have been pleading with the industry for inclusivity, making people feel less alone and creating a lane for real hope and systemic change. And that means everything to us. We’ve made strides, but the work has only just begun.”

Aurora James Photo: Courtesy of The Fashion Awards

Aurora James 

James has brought change to the fashion industry through her campaign to promote Black-owned businesses, calling on retailers to dedicate 15% of their shelf space to Black-owned brands.

“I couldn’t have done any of my work this year without the strong friends and family who create my communities… We must carry this movement on whether it’s through hard policy work, corporate restructuring or even spending power, which creates economic equality for marginalised people and small businesses. The fashion industry has approached change with an optic lens for far too long. My goal with The 15% Pledge is to dig deeper.”

Source Article

Read more

9th Circuit tosses $14.8 mln fee award in Whirlpool ‘coupon’ class action

(Reuters) – A new decision from the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, vacating a $14.8 million fee award to class counsel in a case alleging that Whirlpool dishwashers were prone to overheat, seems likely to discourage plaintiffs’ lawyers from agreeing to settlements in which a big chunk of the relief can be characterized as a coupon.

Under the settlement agreement at the heart of the 9th Circuit case, class counsel’s fees were to be paid directly by Whirlpool rather than coming from the class recovery. But the two sides could not agree on an amount. The company and plaintiffs’ lawyers had widely divergent views on the value of the settlement, which included cash payments to dishwasher owners who had to repair or replace their appliances as well as rebates discounting the price of future dishwasher purchases. Plaintiffs’ lawyers from Chimicles Schwartz Kriner & Donaldson-Smith; Rifkind Weiner Livingston; Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein; Law Offices of Jeffrey M. Cohon and Weinstein Kitchenoff & Asher claimed the entire deal was worth as much as $116.7 million to the class. Whirlpool said that the actual class recovery would be more like $4.2 million, based on the 3.7% claims rate and deficient documentation by most of the owners seeking a cash payout.

Want more On the Case? Listen to the On the Case podcast.

Rather than award fees based on a percentage of the settlement, U.S. District Judge Fernando Olguin of Los Angeles based his fee award on class counsel’s lodestar billings of nearly $9 million, applying a 1.68 multiplier for the “impressive” results and novelty of the case.

Whirlpool, represented by Mayer Brown, appealed the fee award. Objectors represented by the Bandas Law Firm, Lang Hanigan & Carvalho, the Law Office of Sam Miorelli and Scott & Cain also appealed, protesting approval of the settlement as well as the fee award.

The 9th Circuit panel – Judges Richard Clifton, Kenneth Lee and U.S. District Judge Frederic Block of Brooklyn – ruled in an opinion written by Judge Lee that 9th Circuit precedent in 2013’s In re HP Inkjet Printer Litigation and 2018’s Easysaver Rewards Litigation precluded Judge Olguin from basing the fee award only on class counsel’s lodestar billings. Those decisions held that the Class Action Fairness Act does not allow trial judges to award lodestar fees for coupon settlements. (Plaintiffs’ lawyers argued that the rebates in the Whirlpool settlement were not coupons, but the 9th Circuit said they were because class members would have to lay out additional money to receive the credit, which applied only to the future purchase of a Whirlpool dishwasher within a limited timeframe.)

When judges are setting fees for a “mixed” settlement that includes both cash and coupon components, the 9th Circuit said, the preferable method is to disaggregate the value of the cash and coupon components and add together separate calculations of appropriate fees for the two components. Fees for the non-coupon piece of the deal can be based on

Read more

World Athletics Awards: Two Africans make final five for women’s award

Kenya's Peres Jepchirchir and Ethiopia's Letsenbet Gidey

Ethiopia’s Letsenbet Gidey and Kenya’s Peres Jepchirchir have both been named among the final five nominees for the Female Athlete of the Year award for 2020.

The sports’ governing body World Athletics, which was formally known as the IAAF, reduced the nominations from 10 down to five on Tuesday.

Three other African athletes missed out on the final list, with Ethiopia’s Ababel Yeshaneh alongside Kenyan duo Faith Kipyegon and Hellen Obiri having been among the original 10.

The other two failed to make it to the final five were Femke Bol of the Netherlands and Great Britain’s Laura Muir.

The World Athletics Awards 2020 will be staged as a virtual event on 5 December and streamed live on social media.

The finalists

Letesenbet Gidey, Ethiopia

  • set a world record of 14:06.62 over 5000m
  • was second in the 5000m at the Wanda Diamond League meeting in Monaco

Sifan Hassan, Netherlands

  • set a world record of 18,930m in the one hour run
  • set a European record of 29:36.67 over 10,000m, the fourth fastest performance in history

Peres Jepchirchir, Kenya

  • won the world half marathon title
  • twice broke the world half marathon record for a women-only race (1:05:34 and 1:05:16)

Yulimar Rojas, Venezuela

  • undefeated in four triple jump competitions indoors and outdoors
  • broke the world indoor triple jump record with 15.43m

Elaine Thompson-Herah, Jamaica

  • undefeated in seven 100m races
  • ran world-leading 10.85 over 100m

There was a three-way voting process to determine the finalists.

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family cast their votes by email, while fans voted online via our social media platforms.

The Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, while the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25% of the final result. Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closed on 15 November.

Source Article

Read more